Cup of Reviews: I Heart Makeup Unicorn Heart Highlighter

Hello Lovelies,

It’s been a while since my last post! I’m sorry, I don’t know what it is, but I’ve been very uninspired lately to write posts. I guess, it’s also because I’m currently in a no buy and so I’m using up my product stash. Now, I’m usually crazy inspired when I have a product to talk about, of which I rather have a strong or clear opinion. But there are many products that I bought that I just don’t know what it actually does or that I’m just mehhh about. Usually this stuff ends up somewhere hidden in my house and I forget about it.

So with the no buy, I kind of ran out of the excited stuff haha. I have quite some products left to talk about, but that just didn’t amaze me or didn’t leave any impression on me at all… It’s time I talk about those. Because let’s face it, I did spend my hard earned money on it. And you guys obviously have the right to know when a product just didn’t work. I usually don’t like to talk negative. But it’s not because it didn’t work for me, that it’ll not work for you…

Today let’s talk about the I Heart Make Up Unicorns Heart Rainbow Highlighter. I bought this baby a while back in Kruidvat, when it was on a special offer.

The Packaging

Is a cute heart shaped cardboard little box, that resembles the Too Faced Sweetheart blushes a lot (I don’t own them, but “windowshopping” on the Sephora website does give me quite some knowledge on the assortment haha).ย  Personally I don’t like bulky packaging, even though it’s very cute. The lid has a pearly sheen to it, with silver lettering. And the bottom half of the box is a pretty classy gold.

20170617_091431

The highlighter is domed heart shaped in the box and lays in a plastic bottom.

The Product

I honestly don’t know how it happened, but the purple blue side shattered on me. I’m pretty sure I didn’t drop it. So I was already pretty bummed about it. The highlighter feels incredibly soft when touched with the finger.

20170617_091407

There are distinctively 5 shades: violet, blue, green, yellow, orange with a very pearly finish to them. They are incredibly reflective and quite opaque! Can you tell which 5 shadows had a white base and which were pure swatches without any base?

20170617_091227

The first 5 had a white base actually. And the last 5 are pure swatches. Can you believe it!!

When swirled together, you get a cold, silvery highlighter.

How do I feel about it?ย 

Think of a corpse, but than with a glamorous glow… That’s how it looks on me. I just can’t rock this. It is way too cool looking on me. I usually love intense highlighters, but this one is good I’m going for an Alien or something. If that’s the look you’re digging, than this product is definitely for you!

Here’s a picture… Don’t I just look like the tin man?!

20170614_190353

Okay, so you might say that I didn’t even try to look good… Let’s try again…

20170614_190336

Still not digging it!

Usually I don’t mind a bit of a cool toned highlighter, but this is just too blue tinted. I like wearing Hemisphere from the Sleek Solstice pallet, which is already a pretty purple/pink shade.

I like buying products to review them for you guys. But as I pay for it, I always hope for a product that’ll blow me away. So it always saddens me when I bought something that didn’t work for me. But I see it as some sort of duty to use up the products anyway, unless they made me break out or something.

So I like to use it as follows:

  • to highlight the inner corner of my eyes
  • as eyeshadow topper: Kat Von D Alchemic Holographic Pallet style. I haven’t tried the Kat Von D product yet, but it did bring me up to the idea to use this highlighter like that.
  • as a lip topper: to obtain a more dramatic, magical effect

Conclusion

It absolutely didn’t work for me as a highlighter, but it is pretty intense! You can definitely use it for other purposes, so it’s not a loss to buy it.

Have you tried this before? If not, would you purchase it? How would you use it? Thanks for dropping by, you guys! I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Love,

Sarah

 

25 thoughts on “Cup of Reviews: I Heart Makeup Unicorn Heart Highlighter

  1. notyourcupoffashion says:

    Good review! I really like that you shared your true opinion about how the highlighter performed. It is always helpful for everyone to know about the pros and cons, or even just the cons if something does not work out, because then you know if it is really worth buying. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Hi lovely, sorry it took me so long to respond! Thank you so much for your comment, I’m glad you like my writing style! I honestly think it’s no use writing something if it’s not wholehearted and truthful… xoxo Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

  2. xoJenny says:

    I see what you mean its a very “psychedelic-metallic” frosty blue…which is not my personal favorite tone when it comes to highlighters either. It’s definitely pretty but more for like…um, if you’re going to go to a rave or something haha

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tigritsa says:

    For me, these products are only pretty to look at! For wearing, they don’t work for me either. I’m sure some ladies can rock these highlighters but I feel like this type of makeup is better for glam photo shoots and can’t really be worn every day without feeling like the Tin Man, as you said!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

