Cup of Life: Starting my Bullet Journal – April 2017

Hello my Darling friends,

Today I’ll be posting something a bit different. I finally bit the bullet, I got myself a bullet journal :D))) (bad joke I know, can’t help it hihihi). So Tuesday, I went to Brussels to look for a bullet notebook. I looked in 4 different stores and I finally found one in the last store, for 19€… Erm, no way I was going to spend that much. The whole point of starting a bullet journal, aside from the creativity is that it is supposed to be cheap.

I ended up settling for a notebook with lines for 4€, just so I can get started. After a whole weekend of binge watching bullet journal YouTube videos I simply couldn’t wait anymore haha! I’m that kind of person, once I have something in mind, I just get incredibly impatient and need to get it right away… In that sense, I resemble my also very creative dad, who’s now completely emerged in the world of hydropony.

I first saw Anneorshine do her bullet journal and I was intimidated at first by how time consuming it was. But after watching several other videos, I saw the charm and fun in doing it!

First let me show you how the journal looks like on the outside. It’s in a pretty turquoise shade with silver lettering saying “Adventure”. Yup, life is an adventure. When looking from the side, the pages have a silver edge! Love this little detail.

20170423_200417

20170423_200430

I thought long and hard on which theme I was going to pick for April. Even though the month is almost over, it’s a good idea to practice the setup of the journal. As the daffodils are now in bloom, I went for this theme: yellows and greens were the main colors used for this month.

20170423_200457

To draw the daffodils, Pinterest is my best friend :D. I decided to use only colored pencils because the paper is so thin… so I didn’t want to use anything wet. Now normally you’d start with some general information. But I got straight into the month intro page (as said before, very impatient). So I’ll stick the general information on the first turquoise pages later on. But for now, I’ll leave it blank.

20170423_200449

Here’s my set up for now:

  • Intro month page
  • Month log
  • Blogger planning (didn’t include this now, as we’re almost at the end of the month)
  • Expenses log
  • Menu Planner
  • Month tracker: cleaning, workouts, posting schedule, new make up looks,.. (I won’t include this yet, because I haven’t figured out how I will do the lay out. So that will be for the month of May).
  • Weekly spreads
  • Month review

20170423_200504

20170423_200510

20170423_200521

I’ll see where this leads to. But I’ve had so much fun working on this journal. Just flipping through the pages makes me so happy. I’m a huge perfectionist when it comes to the look I want to achieve, so it takes a lot of time for me to make it. I sometimes sat there thinking over 30 minutes how I wanted it to be. But I really love how it looks in the month of April. So I can’t wait to start doodling and planning for May. I’m full of inspiration, so stay tuned for next weeks post!

I’ll do a series for planning with me each month, hopefully you’ll like it!!

Happy BuJo (Bullet journaling)!!

Love,

Sarah

12 thoughts on “Cup of Life: Starting my Bullet Journal – April 2017

  1. xoJenny says:

    Oh my gosh I love how your brought the pages to life and made it truly your own with your own design! That is so impressive and crazily creative! Much like you I’m such a perfectionist but there’s no way I’d be able to create something this perfect on my own!!! Love it! Now you’ll just have to show us the layout you come up with monthly!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Aww thank you so much Jenny!! I’m really glad you like it!! I’m normally not good at drawing flowers. It took me a very long time per flower haha. But eventually I got faster and faster! It’s really forcing you to practice! And honestly, you could also do this with a simpler design. It doesn’t have to be complicated. I’ve been jotting down tons of ideas, so I can’t wait to plan the following months! xoxo Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

