Cup of Confessions: The Travel Rules Tag

Hello my lovelies,

It’s almost that time of the year again to think about going on a trip. Heck what I am saying, there is always time to do that. I recently read a great post from Jenny (Sit Back And Just Live) on the Travel Rules Tag and because I was so excited to write it, she tagged me haha! This tag was initially created by The Daz Box.

I get so excited to write this post, you have no idea. Going on a trip is exciting, but for me part of the fun is actually the preparation.

 

20170327_234115

How do you like my little drawings :D. I’ll be including these more often from now on. My inner child is jumping up and down haha!

 

How do we get to the actual place? 

It depends on where we go. If it’s in Belgium, we take the car. If we’re close to Belgium, we usually take the train. If it’s far, we go by plane and once we get there we take public transportation. I usually look on Expedia.be (I used to look on ebookers.com), where I always take an airplane ticket + hotel combo. It saves you a bit of money and it’s so easy.

Where are we staying?

I usually pick a hotel that is not too expensive, but has the basic needs covered and that is situated in a safe neighborhood. Mainly because I only stay at the hotel to wash and sleep. I also make sure that it is close to public transportation. I’ve never had a vacation before where I stayed by the pool of my hotel. I prefer discovering the country, the food and the people and especially the shopping haha! I love going to market places and have a taste of street food!!

How do we get around?

No matter which country, I always check first how public transportation works in that specific country. So before I get there, I’d already printed the whole metro map.

Furthermore, I even check first what there is to do and I indicate on my map which metro stop it is. So I know perfectly which stops I have to take to go shopping or to visit a certain park. Call me obsessed, but I like to be prepared on budget level and on transportation level. It’s easy when you’re in a country where the people speak English. But in Japan, I’ve only met maybe 3 people who spoke English. As I was there all alone, I knew I had to rely on myself.

I’ve rented a car before when I was in Italy for work. But I find it a bit stressful to ride in another country. I would rent a car if it is necessary, but if everything can be done with public transportation, I’d prefer the latter.

 What do we see or do?

For each country where I go, I always check online the different things that you can do there. My BF and I love animals, so everywhere we go, we try to visit the local zoo. Also we love visiting gardens and musea. I always make sure, when I plan our trip that there is enough time to rest and that I can squeeze in some shopping. I know the BF doesn’t like going to make up stores, so I always get up early to go to make up shops. And by the time I get back he’s ready to head out with me. Obviously I’d take a hotel close to a shopping area :D.

My obsession goes quite far. Because I also check online what you can buy there and look up the local prices, so that I can make an estimation of the cost of the food, the transportation and the activities. Once that part of the excel file is done, the fun part begins when I plan what make up and accessories I can buy there.

The thing is, if I don’t plan my trip, I regret afterwards what I could’ve done, what I could’ve eaten, what I could’ve bought,… I don’t want to have any regrets especially when a trip is so expensive.

Extra: My travel bucket list

Taiwan, Osaka (Japan), Tokyo (Japan, yes again), Singapore (of course), Thailand, California (US), New York (US),…

Extra: Post travel

I spend weeks preparing my travel. But afterwards, I also spend a lot of time making a photo book. With the online program from Kruidvat, I make a thick photobook so that each time when I look at it, it brings me back to the places I’ve been. I guess those things are my most precious items…

Photobook London Sarahscupofbeauty.wordpress.com

Travel Tag

As I said before, I’m not a very materialistic person. Even though brand bags and shoes do sound alluring, I can’t convince myself to spend that much money on that… But if it is to make a trip in Asia, yeah, I’m all ear! Because when I think about the happiest periods in my life, I think about places where I’ve been, the foods that I’ve eaten, the discovery of beautiful places, being accompanied by my BF… I hardly ever think about a purchase of something…

You’ll also notice that I talk a lot about Singapore, Japan, Vietnam,… I do have a soft spot for Asia. It probably has something to do with my roots. I’m very thankful to my parents to have given me a great future and a wonderful childhood. They fled Vietnam during the war and to them it still feels like home. While my home is here in Belgium, I feel a very strong pull towards Asia in general. As I’m now a blogger, I’ll definitely share my adventures with you guys!

So lovelies, I hope you enjoyed this TAG. I’m tagging all of you to write this fun post! If you do, don’t forget to notify me so I can read it!

Love,

Sarah

Follow me on Instagram: Sarahslovelycupoftea

10 thoughts on “Cup of Confessions: The Travel Rules Tag

  1. xoJenny says:

    YAY I’m so glad that you did this tag. Printing out the metro map is such a good idea. I have such a love hate thing with public transport but sometimes it really is just the easiest and cheapest means of getting around. Is that the metro map for Belgium?!? Idk why but I love seeing other locations metro maps.

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      haha yes, I’ve only had good experiences with public transport so far, but then again I’ve only been in countries where it is well organized… The metro map you see is the one from Tokyo. It brings back great memories. The black line was actually the circle line. So from there I went to different places. I made sure my hotel was near this line. I was in Ueno and I could easily go to Shibuya (giant crossing where you can find the statue of hachiko), Ikebukuro (great shopping at sunshine city), Asakusa (the old traditional part of Tokyo), Akihabara (the manga crazy part of Tokyo),… I’d love to go back! xoxo Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Nyse says:

    Gurl, this was a wonderful tag. I can relate with in you in regards to exploring the country, its culture, its food etc. And the idea of a photo book is beautiful. Happy blogging 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Thank you Nyse!! Glad you like it! It’s indeed a wonderful tag. It makes me happy and a bit nostalgic at the same time. Each time I traveled it was a wonderful experience. But also very expensive. Only for this I’d move to Asia to be closer to the other countries as well haha. xoxo Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

