Cup of Reviews: Essence It’s all about Eyeshadows pallets

Hey Buttercups,

Happy Friday, dear darling friends!! I have been raving about my Essence pallets for so long, it’s about time I dedicate a full post to them. The first time I saw these Essence pallets at Kruidvat, I was a bit hesitant as the colors aren’t really exciting. It just took one swatch and I was sold. Here’s why…

The packaging

It’s a small see through compact, that you can take anywhere with you. The plastic is sturdy with silver lettering on it. I like the basic design of this.

Don’t be fooled by the small packaging, because this product contains 9,5 g/0,33 oz (for 3,99€ in Belgium!!!). This quantity is more than what you get in the UD Moondust pallet (5,6g). In the UD Electric pallet, you get 12g. So even with this little size, you get with this Essence pallet a lot of product.

The eyeshadows

The shades are monochromatic, buttery soft, swatch wel, are applied nicely with a brush,… They are lovely pigmented. There are several pallets, of which I have 3: Roses, Greys and Bronze.

1. The Roses

The first pallet I got from this line is the “Roses” pallet. Shades 2, 6 and 8 are matt. I like to use 6 as my blending shade in the crease. 2 is usually used for the browbone highlighter. I like to use 1 on the inner corners to open up the eyes, it’s so frosty! 3 and 4 are perhaps the least pigmented, but they do look nice for a subtle halo look and give a soft frost. Overall, on the eye these colors do not look very rosy, but have more of a purple taupy look to them. It’s a very nice pallet if you like to make easy looks that are universally flattering.

20170211_1159191

20170211_115246

If you haven’t seen my Valentine’s day looks, I did a sultry look with this pallet. You can check how I did it here.

valentines-look-2

2. The Bronze

For my beauties out there loving shimmery warm bronze shades, this one is for you. There is no matt shade in this pallet. But the shimmer is not too strong and looks quite natural.

The swatches are buttery soft and swatch so nicely! I did switch the 1 and 2 swatches.

20170211_1159301

20170211_115618

I wore the look below this week. It’s definitely far from perfect, but this was after 12h wear! I don’t get how some Youtubers say they wear their make up 8h. That doesn’t even cover the time I’m at work… I apply mine at 7am and I get home at 17pm at the earliest. Usually I then rush to the kitchen to cook. So I’m only taking my make up off afterwards. But I wanted to show you how long they wear, on an Essence Eyeshadow base (I always use a base, no matter which shadows I use).

bronze

3. The Greys

This pallet is definitely my favorite. I almost use it every single day. I call it my little wing pallet, as in “wingman” for any other pallet or eyeshadow. Because I love to make a basic grey smokey eye and top it off with a colorful or glittery eyeshadow. So I love using this in combination with the UD Moondust Eyeshadowpallet.

I use shade 6 so often, that you can clearly see the dent. I think I’m going to hit pan soon. Shade 5 is also lovely. I use shade 7 constantly to set my eyeliner. The shades 1 and 7 are matt. Shade 8 has subtle glitters. All the rest is shimmery.

20170211_115943

20170211_115451

Here’s the look I wore yesterday with on top Vega from the UD Moondust Eyeshadow pallet. And for those of you who wonder, I’m wearing the NYX Lingerie liquid lipstick in Embellishment (lovely shade, but a bit drying).

greys

If you’ve been following my blog, you know how much I love eyeshadow. My favorite brands are Urban Decay and Too Faced. So I’m quite picky for drugstore eyeshadows: I like them soft, pigmented, blendable, long lasting… I’d rather pay a bit more money for good shadows than spend say 2€ on something I’ll never even use.  These Essence pallets have really blown me away from the moment I’ve started using them. And they are so cheap for so much product! I can’t get over it. I’ve seen on the Essence website that they no longer sell the Greys :(! Why, it’s my favorite?! The only pallet I don’t have is the Nudes, but I already have so many great nudes…

I hope you found this little review helpful and I’ll talk to you in my next post!!

Love,

Sarah

Follow me on Instagram: Sarahslovelycupoftea

25 thoughts on “Cup of Reviews: Essence It’s all about Eyeshadows pallets

  1. xoJenny says:

    I love how they separate them into 3 different tones like that. I’m lured by the bronze one those are all gorgeous shades! But you’re so right the overall packaging is cute and compact but the individual shadow pallets are a really good size. When it comes to shadow I get so overwhelmed because I’m always wanting to use colors from every pallet (not that I use them on myself, but when I do my friend’s makeup and such) I love playing around with different combinations.

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Hahaha, I know the feeling. I’m happy to do swatches, wipe it off and swatch again. Such an eyeshadow junky haha! What amazes me the most is the amount of product you get. The pallet is small, but it has a lot of product in comparison with bigger pallets. The thing is, these eyeshadows are so easy to use. I recommend them to everyone. I can be so easy slapping on a brown or a taupe and some highlight under the brow and you’re good to go. The dark shades are also nice to line your eyes with. Can’t say enough good things about these… xoxo Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

