Cup of Reviews: Zoeva Cocoa Blend Pallet

Dear Buttercups,

I hope you’ve had a lovely week! I’ve been having a cold for a week now and it makes me cough each time I want to say something… Very annoying and painful for my throat… I hope you’ve had a better and healthier week than I had.

As a true beauty addict, I browse through the Sephora.fr novelties several times per week. It has been approximately a month now that I’ve discovered that Zoeva products are available on the Sephora.fr website. I honestly didn’t expect it. Sometimes (say often) you hear YouTube gurus talk about certain brands and you don’t think much of it, because you assume it’ll never be available in little Belgium… So I was pleasantly surprised that there was a big variety of products to be found! And… that the prices were quite affordable for the eyeshadows. I’ve also heard many great reviews about the brushes, but those are a bit on the expensive side (even though it’s still a lot less pricey than Sigma brushes, which I also haven’t purchased yet). Now obviously, you know me. The first item I’d try would be an eyeshadow pallet. I don’t easily invest in brushes just because they are so expensive. I know it’s absurd, but I always think that there are so many make up items to buy (preferably lip products, eyeshadows and blushes), that I go for cheaper brushes (from Morphe Brushes for example). But enough ranting, you clicked on this post, because you want to read about the beautiful Zoeva Cocoa Blend pallet. So here it is!

20161211_120929

The product (Net. Wt. 10 x 1,5g/10 x 0.05 oz)

The product retails for 22€ on the Sephora.fr website. So you get a decent amount of product for this price. In terms of weight, you almost get as much product as an Urban Decay Naked pallet.

20161211_121010

The packaging

The packaging is a sturdy cardboard with magnetic closure. The pallet is quite thin, which makes it very portable and lightweight. But because it is thin, there is no mirror. That bothers me a bit, but on the other hand I always carry around other products that have mirrors…

The eyeshadows

Overall, these shadows perform like Too Faced shadows: Easy to blend and pigmented. The mix of colors you get are versatile and allow you to create looks, without having to include another pallet or shadows. You also get different textures:

4 mattes: Bitter start, Beans are white, Substitute for love, Freshly toasted
2 satins: Sweeter end, Delicate acidity
1 shimmer: Infusion
3 metals: Warm notes, Subtle blend, Pure ganache

 

20161211_102710

Outdoor swatches

 

20161211_102736

Indoor swatches

I probably won’t have to tell you my favorite shades are the metals! They are so smooth, pigmented and shiny! The matts blend well and perform like they should, except for Beans are white, which is a bit patchy and not very pigmented. The satins are okay, but Sweet end is not very pigmented.

Overall, I think the shadows are amazing and it is pretty affordable. Zoeva has different pallets and I was going back and forth whether to get the Rodeo Belle pallet and the Mixed Metals. But as I wasn’t sure about the quality I decided to only get the Cocoa Blend pallet, which looks amazing. But the shades Substitute for love and Freshly toasted are quite warm toned. If they were a bit more neutral or cooler toned, I’d probably reach for this pallet more often. Because it makes each look a bit orange, which is not particularly flattering on me… But if you enjoy warm colors, this one will definitely be for you.

Here are 2 looks I’ve created with this pallet:

cocoa-blend-look-1

Crease: Substitute for love & Freshly toasted
Eyelid: Warm notes
Outer V: Infusion
Lower Lashline: Pure ganache
Browbone: Bitter start
Liner: Gel liner of Cozz Cosmetics and set it with Infusion

cocoa-blend-look-2

Crease: Substitue for love
Inner & Outer corners: Warm notes
Outer V: Beans are white
Eyelid: Sweeter end
Outer lower lash line: Substitue for love & Beans are white
Inner lower lash line: Sweeter end 

I hope you found this review helpful! I still have a couple of pallets to review, so stay tuned!

Have a lovely week beauties! I’ll talk to you soon!

Love,

Sarah

Follow me on Instagram: Sarahslovelycupoftea

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Cup of Reviews: Zoeva Cocoa Blend Pallet

  1. xoJenny says:

    The looks you came up with are so good! You used the two colors that my eyes were drawn to; pure ganache and warm notes I absolutely love it. The warm notes paired with that lip color too is such a good match. You’ll have to show us more as you make more combinations!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 2 people

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Thank you, Jenny. Those 2 shades are also my favorites! I’ll try to post more looks of this pallet :). I have so many new pallets and I love creating looks with it. Coming up are the Too Faced Sweet Peach pallet and the Urban Decay Full Spectrum pallet. There is (very fun) work to do! xoxo Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Thank you Leia. The colors are indeed great for autumn, though I do think it can look great in he summer. The warm tones could be combined with a fun turquoise… thanks for dropping by xoxo Sarah

      Like

  2. Claire Talks Beauty says:

    wow this palette is so pretty! i love zoeva shadows,i think that the quality is really good. their brushes are also awesome.

    Like

  3. LivingOutLoud says:

    Hi Sarah!
    There you go again with gorgeously flawless makeup!!! I know this post was awhile back. I hope you are feeling better now :). I am already getting excited about the thought of springtime :).

    ❤ Alana

    Like

  4. myalicat says:

    I have the rose golden zoeva palette and I absolutely love it! I’ve actually recently done a review on my blog on it as its my all time favorite palette, hope you check it out! Can’t wait to do some pretty looks for the spring and summer using it! Love your blog! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

