Cup of New Goodies: Kiko Haul

Hello Beautifuls,

I went to a Kiko store for the very first time when I was doing some Christmas shopping. The store in Brussels Rue Neuve is pretty big, open and white and the make up is neatly displayed. The very first things that caught my attention were the glittery eyeshadow duos. I suppressed the urge to buy those, as I already have a ton of pallets and still having even more pallets on my wish list. What definitely surprised me was the fact that they have covered not only the make up part, but also skincare and nails.

At first glance, the make up products seem to be around the same price class as NYX products. The lipsticks are around 4€ and the eyeshadow singles 3-4€.

I’ll share with you below the products that I got and my first impressions/mini reviews. The prices mentioned are from the Kiko Cosmetics website

Face Make Up Fixer (7,90€)

This looks like a mini hairspray and the product smells like one haha. I expected something cold, wet and sticky at application. So I squeezed my eyes shut and sprayed… To my surprise, it felt slightly cold, but not wet. It didn’t even feel like a mist. My skin felt dry to the touch. It definitely fixed my make up throughout the day. I have to say, I like it. It’s quite different from any other fixing spray I’ve used before.

20170109_182839

Smart Lipstick (3,90€)p

I was especially interested in the purple orchid shade (of course, what else would I pick) in nr. 931. I grabbed the lipsticks (one for me and one for my mom) above the tester without checking the number (yup, very typically me). So we ended up buying the shade 904 which is a vibrant reddish pink. My mom was a bit disappointed afterwards because she doesn’t really like bright pinks. So later that week I went back to get her the 931 shade as stocking stuffer.

20170109_182802

It is crazy how many lip products you can find at Kiko. There are of course different finishes and opacities! The Smart Lipstick is made to provide bright lip color and to nourish the lips. The 931 shade applies a bit patchy and it takes several swipes to achieve fully opaque colored lips. The longevity wasn’t particularly long. It faded after a couple of hours. I did of course drink and eat. I applied it this morning at 7 am and not even by 10 am, my lips looked like dried prunes. The color faded, but remained very visible in the dry cracks of my lips. Not the sexiest look. It is slightly moisturizing at application, but to be honest, I’ve used so many great moisturizing lipsticks the past year that this one didn’t impress me at all.

 

lipsticks

Left: patchy after a first application of 931, Middle: after several coats, Right: shade 904 after several coats.

 

The 904 shade looks nice on the picture, but I had the same patchy problem upon application and the dry skin on my lips was pretty visible.

3D Hydra Lipgloss (7,80€)

These glosses were so shiny and glittery in the store, that I would’ve regretted it if I didn’t buy it… They are ultra shiny on the lips.

20170109_182937

I’d describe these as a classic gloss: moist and smooth, glittery, shiny and sheer, with a hint of vanilla scent. These would resemble the glosses that I first tried out, when I started playing around with make up, what like, 15 years ago. They don’t feel sticky at all, but fade pretty quickly. I think these would look nice on top of a lipstick or a lip pencil.

 

glosses

Left: 04, Right: 05

 

 

There is not a huge difference between the 2 glosses, except that 05 might be a tinge cooler toned.

Nail Polish Remover Express (3,90€)

Just picked this up because I needed a nail polish remover. But I haven’t tried it out yet.

20170109_201022.jpg

Pure Clean Powder (7,90€)

The last item I picked up is an exfoliating powder that you have to activate with water. It was something different, that I hadn’t tried out before. You are supposed to put some powder in your hands and add some water. This lathers up in some sort of foam that you can massage on to the skin. I’ve used it twice already and I’m not sure how I feel about it. I didn’t feel any difference. The granules are big, but it’s not quite as exfoliating as St.Yves. It also doesn’t have any moisturizing properties, like the Tony Moly Coffee Latte scrub has… I’ll have to play some more with this. But so far, I’m not very impressed by this product.

20170109_221046

This was my first Kiko Experience ever. Overall, I was disappointed with the lipsticks. But there are still many other finishes and formulas to be tested. I think the glosses are quite nice, though it’s not something I’d wear often, because I like my glosses to have a bit more color. The product I’m currently enjoying a lot is the Make Up Fixing Spray!

There are still many products to try out from this brand. And who know what gems I’ll still discover.

I’ll definitely keep you posted!

Love,

Sarah

9 thoughts on “Cup of New Goodies: Kiko Haul

  1. xoJenny says:

    Thats such a bummer about the lipsticks but at least you didn’t spend an arm and a leg on them for not being the greatest quality. But I do like the shade of the 904 one on you. But totally good to know. I barely see kiko products in the US, although I have tried their liquid liner and was a total fan!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Oooh, maybe I’ll try the liquid liner! If you check their website, you can see there are many different types of lip products. It’s overwhelming really… If you want to do a swap, just let me know :). If you have a list of products, you’d like to try… xoxo Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

