Cup of Looks: My Favorite looks of 2016

Hello my sweet readers,

Happy New Year to you all!!! I hope you had a wonderful evening with your friends and family! I finally got to give my DIY gifts, which is always the climax of the year. I’ll be posting that real soon. I’ve had pretty busy days as I was making these gifts and preparing for the singing today! I’m super excited!

I did wanted to share a post on New Years Day. But before I continue with my Cup of Favorites: Part II, I thought I’d share with you my top 20 favorite looks of the year. Maybe you’re curious and wonder why I don’t post Part II immediately. Well… I have the sweetest boyfriend in the world. I’m blessed that he loves cleaning… He’s in this frenzy cleaning mode once a week haha. But when the cleaning monster is there, he throws all the little trinkets that he encounters together or somewhere, as long as it is out of sight… So the result is, that most of my favorite lipsticks have vanished, literally! I admit it (not blaming you, boo), I’m pretty bad at putting those back when I’ve used it. I usually accumulate 6-8 lip products in my bag… I’m working on it people! It’s on the top of my list of New Years Resolutions for 2017! Seriously!

So here are my favorite looks of 2016!

Look 1:

I love my blues and purples! I also think I’m the winter type, so I usually get more compliments when I wear blues and fushia. Thus I tend to stay in that color scheme.

look-1

Look 2:

I’ve learned that using color can be less intimidating when combined with a neutral brown or grey to blend out. I love how colorful and soft this look is.

look-2

Look 3:

I rarely do a brown smoky eye, but I particularly like this look because it is not too warm and even though it is smoky, it’s not over the top.

look-3

Look 4:

Here I’m giving my Urban Decay Electric pallet some love! This pallet is so versatile!

look-4

Look 5:

Extreme liner. I feel that it makes my little eyes bigger.

look-5

Look 6:

I love being inspired by my surroundings. This particular look was inspired by the grey weather in Belgium when summer faded and made place for Autumn. You might think Autumn would be all warm colors. But in Belgium, there is a weather that is in between that is foggy, misty and mysterious. I shared this look before with a little tutorial, if you’re interested: Cup of looks: Misty Forest

look-6

Look 7:

Even though it doesn’t belong in my color scheme, I love corals!!

look-7

Look 8:

Another corally look, using the Urban Decay Vice 2 pallet!

look-8

Look 9:

I was again giving my Urban Decay Vice 2 pallet some love.

look-10

Look 10:

Obsessed with Plums and Berries!!

look-11

Look 11:

A blue double wing liner using the back of my Too Faced primer tube to obtain a winged liner. I never use tape to do these type of looks.

look-12

Look 12:

A soft coral cut crease with the Urban Decay Vice 2 pallet. The shiny pout is obtained with the Lancôme Juicy Shaker in Melimelon.

look-13

Look 13:

Shiny lids with Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in Nillionnaire on a basic smokey eye with the Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons pallet and Colourpop SSS in Dare on top of the purple liner (Colourpop Piggy bank) on the waterline. I love the orchid color on the lips which is the lippiestix in Whip.

look-14

Look 14:

I’m so in love with that NYX Intense Butter Gloss in Berry Strudel.

look-15

Look 15:

My basic look is usually a neutral eye with a colourful liner. It doesn’t get old for me and it’s so easy to wear matching liner with the clothes. The color on your lips ties everything together.

look-16

Look 16:

This is my favorite color combination.

look-17

Look 17:

First time that I wore lashes…

look-18

Look 18:

I find neutral looks with a bit of shimmer very classy and wearable :D. Even if it weren’t wearable I’d still wear it though.

look-9

Look 19:

First time I had this much make up on haha. I am a creative person, but I had always been putting off going for crazy make up…

look-19

Look 20:

No comment!

look-20

Just kidding haha!! It was a good mask though. Check my post if you haven’t already: Cup of Reviews: L’Oréal Pure Clay Mask

If there’s any particular look you’d like me to recreate or describe the products, please let me know and I’ll look it up.

Enjoy your New Years Day Beautifuls and I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Love,

Sarah

17 thoughts on “Cup of Looks: My Favorite looks of 2016

  1. lovejennyxo says:

    I love the looks, I was going to pick one and then I was going through them over and over and couldn’t even pin point JUST ONE! Ah, but okay 3, lips on 10 11, 13, 15, 16, 17- oh and totally 20 😉 But honestly you kill it with the shadows and liner!

    xo, JJ

    Like

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Thank you, Jenny! I really appreciate your lovely comment! Practicing the winged liner each day did help a lot :). Yes, I also like that brown smoky look. It was completely obtained with the Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons pallet. For lips:
      10 & 17 are both the Maybelline Vivid Matt Liquid in Possessed Plum
      11 is the Maybelline Vivid Matt Liquid in Nude Flush
      13 is the Colourpop Lippiestix in Whip
      15 is the Colourpop Lippiestix in Safari
      16 is the NYX Intense Lip Butter in Black Cherry Tart
      20 are dried lips (least moisture possible) with a hint of red wine, haha!
      xoxox, Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LivingOutLoud says:

    Hi Sarah!

    You are so talented with makeup! And your skin and hair looks absolutely gorgeous and Flawless!!! That’s so awesome that your boyfriend helps you with cleaning :). Mine does too and I can almost always count on things being placed in odd places. Haha. At least they try, right?!

    Thanks for sharing your looks. I don’t think that there is a shade you cannot pull off! Hope you are having a great week!!!

    ❤ Alana

    Liked by 1 person

    • sarahscupofbeauty says:

      Aw thank you, Alana! I practice every day. And my cellphone camera has a built in filter, so my skin is airbrushed on pictures.
      Indeed, we’re lucky the men can help out. I think it’s cute actually :D.
      As I’m a winter type I tend to make every look a bit cooler by using cool blending shades. I think you could pull off the same looks, if you match the blending colors to your skintone! For instance oranges are not my best friends… Anyway, I’m glad the weekend’s starting! You too, have wonderful week! ❤ Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

      • sarahscupofbeauty says:

        Indeed!! We’re celebrating my father in law’s birthday tomorrow at a Chinese Restaurant. He collects old coins. And I’m going to make an “treasure in the ocean” themed fake aquarium. I’m going to use a fish bole with sand in it, with a mini treasure chest (in which we’ll hide the coin) and I’ll decorate it with origami fish and seaweeds… Never done it before, but hopefully it’ll look nice! How about you? ❤ Sarah

        Liked by 1 person

      • LivingOutLoud says:

        Those are some fun birthday plans! I love your “treasure in the ocean” gift and I am sure that your father-in-law will too! So creative. I hope you’ll take some pictures of it?

        This weekend is my last chance to get household chores done before I start school this Monday so hopefully I will muster up enough energy to get it done! Always a joy to talk with you! Xoxoxo.

        ❤ Alana

        Liked by 1 person

      • sarahscupofbeauty says:

        Thank you for the support, Alana! I’ll definitely take pictures of my project :D. You know what helps with the chores: Watching cleaning YouTube vids haha! It makes me work faster and harder than anything else haha. Enjoy your weekend! Let’s tal again soon! xoxox ❤ Sarah

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

