Cup of Reviews: Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-free All-in-1 Cushion Foundation

Hey Beauties,

Today I have a review of the Physicians Formula cushion foundation for you. Any beauty junky knows what a cushion foundation is, but for those of you who don’t, it is a compact with a closed compartment with a sponge drenched in liquid foundation. You get with the compact, what they call, an airpuff with which you can apply and blend out the foundation on your skin.

These type of foundations, originated from Korea, have been super popular for the past years in Asia… And Korean brands continue to come out with different types of cushions (primer, highlighter, blush, bronzer). Since these type of products have found their way to the rest of the world, several Western brands have since the beginning of this year come out with their version of the cushion foundations. Have you tried them out yet?

The thing about them is that you get less product than when you would buy a bottle of foundation. And because of the packaging, the price of these products are so expensive, whether it is drugstore or high end. So I haven’t tested any high end cushion foundations yet. I must say, Dior, Lancôme and YSL have come out with amazing looking cushion foundations! I’m definitely tempted to try them out.

But back to our Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free All-in-1 Cushion Foundation (sheesh, that’s a mouthfull! I’ll hereon out write CF for Cushion Foundation).

Packaging

The cute compact looks like a little light blue pillow with metallic blue around it. Like most CF’s the case is round.

pf-cf

You get 14 ml of product for ca. 20€ at Di Belgium, which is slightly more expensive than the L’Oréal Nude Magique CF, that retails for 17,99 € (with 14,6 g of product) at Kruidvat (it’s called Nude Magique in Belgium, but I think it’s the same as the Lumi CF).

PF CF Open.jpg

Claim

This Talc-free product claims to have the following effects: Airbrushing, Blurring and Correcting. First of all, does anyone know the difference between airbrushed and blurred? It seems to me it’s the same. But if you know, please leave me a comment.

It also claims to offer light to medium coverage with an SPF 50, which is quite high. The products in Belgium aren’t usually foreseen with this high of an SPF. For Korean CF’s however, this seems to be the standard. My Etude House CF also has SPF 50.

So does it work?

The product applies as easily on the face as the 2 others, I’ve tried before from Etude House and L’Oréal. The coverage is quite sheer. You can see that there is a blurring effect and slight color correcting effect. It doesn’t cover my dark circles, but does even out my skin tone, especially where there is redness. I don’t feel like this will offer much more coverage even if you build the product up.

pf-cf-try-out

On the finished face, I did use concealer and setting powder.

pf-cf-full-face

Finished look using a.o. Zoeva Cocoa Blend pallet and the Urban Decay Vice lip pallet

I’ve used this product for several weeks now and the finished look is slightly dewy. It stays on the face for quite some time and with a good primer (I use an aftershave balm), it lasts the whole day (for me typically 10h). Like with most CF’s, there is not a lot product in it. But it is very compact to take with you on the go.

Personally, I prefer regular foundations over CF’s, because you get a lot more product. And I do find the price tag to be a bit high. I also like better coverage for my blemishes, so this is not a product for me. I bought it mainly because I’m a sucker for cute packaging, as you all know…

It’s a cute product and would work well for someone with nice looking skin and who doesn’t need a ton of coverage.

I hope you found this review helpful. Please like this post if you enjoyed it and subscribe.

Love,

Sarah

Follow me on Instagram: Sarahslovelycupoftea

17 thoughts on “Cup of Reviews: Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-free All-in-1 Cushion Foundation

  1. lovejennyxo says:

    I’m definitely drawn to products according to their packaging and this one is so super cute! You can tell that its not that bad of a product but the fact that you had to use other products with it to make it work, kinda makes me meh about it too! Great detailed and honest review though!!!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

