Cup of Reviews: Nivea Make up remover under the shower

Hello Buttercups,

I hope you’ve been well. Life has been giving me quite some lemons lately. And I’ve been taking some time off to evaluate the situation and myself… Even though I’m struggling with the direction I want to take, one thing is for sure, I love doing make up and trying out new beauty related things. But because of this long pause, I’ve missed out on posting some reviews of limited edition products (Too Faced x Nikkietutorials make up kit and the Urban Decay Vice lip pallet). As a result, I still have some unpublished posts of products that are no longer available and thus are not interesting anymore for you, guys… If however, you’d still want to read it, let me know and I’ll post it.

Now onto a product I tried out in October. I’m excited about it, because I’ve found a more affordable alternative for my Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm. I’m talking about the Nivea Make up remover for under the shower. I hear you thinking: “Another cleansing product!!! Come on, Sarah!”. I know, I know, but please hear me out… I truly believe cleaning your face is the most important step in your daily skin care routine. It just IS essential to take off your make up every single day! Because of this, I go through cleansing products rather quickly.

20161211_121427

Niveau Make up remover under the shower

This product has been available for a couple of months now in Belgium. It claims to remove all your make up and mascara without the use of cotton pads. Even though it says in the title “for under the shower”, you don’t necessarily have to use it that way. It’s a thick balmy consistency that melts off your make up when you massage it onto your skin. When rinsed off with luke warm water, it claims to leave your skin completely clean.

What better way to try this product by removing Halloween make up, with lots of eyeshadow and glitter! I wore the look below on the Halloween party of our dance club. I decided to take the make up off on one side with my favorite Clinique Cleansing Balm and on the other side with the Niveau product.

My trusty Clinique balm is easily massaged into the skin. I always use a pea size amount, but for the Halloween make up I used a bit more to cleanse my face. After that I rinse this off, my face and eyes are totally clean.

With the Nivea balm, I have to take thrice as much product as the Clinique one in order to remove the make up from my face. I also feel that while massaging the product onto my skin, the products dries out a bit, so it gets harder to move it around. The Clinique balm doesn’t do that, but even gets more oily and workable while massaging. I also noticed that it did sting my eyes a bit… not much, but I did wear a lot of eye make up, so I had to massage the eyes thoroughly… The Clinique product never stings my eyes. After the first rinse, I still had some green shadow left on my face. So I had to go back in for a second round.

NiveavsCliniquecleansingbalm.jpg

I have of course used this cleansing product for a while now and I don’t apply dramatic Halloween make up every single day :). So overall for day to day make up, it does take off the make up well but not my waterproof mascara. I always have to clean it up using a cotton pad with a bit of micellar water or make up remover. Out of all the drugstore cleansers I’ve used up until now, this one is by far my favorite. I definitely recommend it to you guys.

Overall score: 7/10 cups

I hope you found this post helpful. Please like it if you’ve enjoyed it and subscribe.

See you in my next post!

Love,

Sarah

Follow me on Instagram: Sarahslovelycupoftea

8 thoughts on “Cup of Reviews: Nivea Make up remover under the shower

Leave a Reply

