Cup of Basics: My make up routine

Hey dolls,

Recently I have changed a lot of steps in my make up routine. And I now feel that I am quite happy with how my skin looks these days. It hasn’t always been like that though, but I’ll share my make up story and mistakes in another post.

Before I came to my current make up routine, I always did the eyes first and then the face. As I love using colorful and glittery eyeshadows, I don’t like to deal with fall out on a finished face. However, I was never quite happy about how the make up looked on my skin. Even if I didn’t pack make up on, I felt like it looked so cakey. A while back I saw a YouTube video from Readysetglam and Makeupgeek about the cake face topic, which entirely changed my make up game. And I’ve also added a couple of key products to my routine, which I’d like to share with you today.

Basically my strategy is waiting between every step of my face make up, so that the products can settle on my skin. This means that during my routine I switch constantly after every step: Face, eyes, face, eyes, face, brows, face, eyes and set. Oh and then lips of course to finish off the look!

1. Moisturize and prime the skin

After my skincare steps, I always prime my face because otherwise my favorite BB cream will not settle or last on my skin. It might sound strange to you (if you haven’t been watching YouTube Gurus like Nikkietutorials, Jaclyn Hill, Kathleen Lights,… lately), but I use aftershave balm for sensitive skin to prime my skin. The ingredient Glycerin makes my BB cream stick to my face like glue! Love it!

2. Prime the eyes and apply eyeshadow

I let my face primer rest and prime my eyelids, with Urban Decay Primer Potion or Too Faced Shadow Insurance, because I have those in my make up bag. I then apply my eyeshadows on the upper eye lid.

3. Apply BB-cream or Foundation

As I already did the eye shadows, I don’t have to worry about fall out, I can just wipe it off. I then apply a couple dots of BB-cream over my face and blend it out with a moist beauty blender. I make sure to take my time to blend. The more blended, the more natural it’ll look.

4. Back to the eyes: Lining the eyes

As my foundation is allowed to settle on my skin, I go back to the eyes. I love lining my eyes with the Studio Gel Liner from Maybelline. Ever since I got this, I haven’t used anything else. Then I settle this gel with a dark shadow (black usually). I then let this rest a bit. Because if I immediately curl the lashes, the gel could stick to my eye lash curler, because it’s not dried enough. That drives me crazy!

5. Conceal!

My favorite concealer the past few months has been the Stay All Day 16H concealer from Essence Cosmetics (not too thick and stays on well). I apply this under my eyes, taking it a bit down on the upper part of my cheeks, around the nose area, cupid’s bow (I tend to have a bit of coloration there), nose bridge, forehead and chin (for highlighting purposes). I just let it sit without blending. A makeup artist once told me, during a work shop, that people blend it out too fast. It has to settle on your skin first before blending it out.

6. Give them brows some love!

You guessed it, we go back to the eyes! Well, at least to the frames of our eyes: the brows. I keep it simple here. I just take a brown shadow (already hit pan on “Buck” from the Naked 1 pallet, any other brown shadow would do) to fill in my brows.

7. Finishing the face

Now it’s time to blend out the concealer with the Beauty Blender. I’ve recently discovered my holy grail powder to set my foundation and concealer: the HD Finishing Powder from NYX Cosmetics! I have huge lines under my eyes. And any product and/or powder just sinks deep into these lines and accentuate them. I’ve tried different powders, but none of them worked on me. That is until I tried the HD Finishing powder from NYX. You need a teensy bit to powder your under eyes and the rest of your face.

After that I contour my face using the powder contouring pallet (C9) from Morphebrushes using the cool brown shade. Using a more warm brown shade from the same pallet I bronze my face.

I do not go out without my blush. I’ve been enjoying the NYX Ombre Blush in Mauve Me so much. It looks so glam, but yet so natural. It’s just the perfect shade.

For highlight I’ve been using either the Too Faced Candle Light Glow Highligther (Warm) or the Sleek Cosmetics Solstice Highlighting pallet (all 4 shades are gorgeous). I dust lightly on my cheek bones, cupid’s bow and nose bridge.

8. Finishing the eyes

I then apply eye shadow on the lower lashline. I curl the upper lashes and apply a nice coat of mascara. I never use any falsies, because I wear glasses. My favorite mascara of all times is the Maybelline Colossal Waterproof mascara. However, I have been mixing lately by adding several coats of the Covergirl Supersizer or the Maybelline Lash Sensational (a bit more clumpy, but soooo dramatic).

9. Time to set

My favorite setting sprays are the MAC Fix Plus (I’m kind of addicted to that scent) and the NYX fixing spray.

10. Last but not least, let’s give that pout some color!

I always do this step last. I usually reapply lip products in the day. All the rest I don’t touch anymore. If you haven’t seen my lips favorites yet, go check out my blog post!

Cup of Favorites: My current Lip Obsessions

20160907_074134

That’s about it, girls! I know it looks like a lot of steps, but believe me, it makes such a difference. It goes fast when you get the hang of it. Please let me know what you’d like to read in my next post! Love to hear your ideas!

If you enjoyed this post, please don’t forget to like and subscribe.

I’ll talk to you soon!

love,

Sarah

Follow me on Instagram: sarahslovelycupoftea

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cup of Basics: My make up routine

  1. LivingOutLoud says:

    Your makeup is beautiful. It gives your skin a glow without looking cakey or overdone. I have never been good at doing my own make-up, but I feel inspired by you. Maybe I will try. Thanks for sharing your routine! Alana Xoxoxo.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

