Cup of Reviews: Make Up For Ever Artist Shadows Volume 3

Hello Loves,

It’s been a while on the market now, but I was only able to purchase it recently on the French Sephora website. I am talking about the colorful Make Up For Ever (MUFE) Artist Shadows Volume 3. If I am guilty of having any addiction, it would be buying eyeshadows. I am a true eyeshadow junkie and I would skip on anything else to just apply eyeshadow haha. I know, most people would say mascara, blush or gloss or something, which would be more logic.

Whenever I see bright colors and sparkly blues, I can simply not resist. And with a 20% off code on the Sephora France website, there was no excuse really… I just had to make this baby mine!

IMG_20160714_182944

Make Up For Ever Artist – Shadows 3

Packaging: 6/10 cups

I am not a huge fan of the cardboard packaging, which does look a bit cheap, though it is the sturdy type (comparable to the pallets by The Balm). I took this pallet on a beach weekend with me and kept it in my big beauty bag. To be honest, I was a bit scared anything would fall open and break my new treasure. You know how accidents can happen when your bag is too big… Luckily nothing happened. Because I was pretty careful with this.

The packaging has a magnetic closure and comes with a decent size mirror. The lid doesn’t have an hinge holding it straight, so in order to see yourself, you must place it against something. Because mama is way too blind, I don’t use this mirror. I am actually so blind that I practically have to push the mirror against my nose and God knows, I have a small flat nose. So can you imagine the mirror being real close.

Eye Shadow texture: 9/10 cups

My all time favorite eye shadows are from Urban Decay, with their buttery soft and super pigmented shadows. I haven’t used any color from UD yet, that has disappointed me. Now, I was pretty excited for this pallet, because it’s also my first product ever from MUFE. I’ve yet to see a YouTube video where a MUFE eye shadow gets a bad review. So I had really high hopes for this product and expected a: buttery soft touch, great staying power, super pigmented colors and wonderful blendability. And this pallet definitely didn’t disappoint me. The shadows didn’t feel as buttery soft as UD, but maybe a bit harder. But the pigmentation was at least as good. You’ll have to be careful though, because these shadows, especially the darker colors, can stain your eyes. So if you made a mistake and have to start all over, it’ll leave some color residue…

Colors: 8/10 cups

I’ll just say straight away, these colors are right up my alley. Mermaid blues, a warm coral and purple hues, need I say more. Just right off the bat, you can tell that you’ll need another pallet with neutrals to accompany this pallet, to create a complete look. None of the colors are matt. They either have a metallic finish or a satiny glow.

This pallet is designed to have 3 different trios (divided in columns), that you can use to create a look on it’s own. You get a little booklet that shows you how to combine these trios. As the individual shadows don’t have a name, I’ll just give them one myself haha.

  • Emerald Blossom

Emerald Blossom could look intimidating. However, these colors can be used as a pop of color in a more neutral look. Or you could make it work, by combining it with a skin tone or brown blending color.

20160714_180437

Column 1: Emerald Blossom

Blue: This magnificent deep blue shade has very fine and subtle shimmer in it.
Mermaid blue/green: This color is my absolute favorite shade of the whole pallet. It has a metallic shine, is super pigmented, with which you can create stunning looks.
Yellow: looks almost matt, but has some shine to it. I feel like this is the least pigmented color of the whole pallet.

  • Nude Blossom

The three shades in Nude Blossom are quite shiny. With this row, you could create a more neutral look.

Column 2: Nude Blossom

Column 2: Nude Blossom

Pink Taupe: this first color is gorgeous in the outer corner, but would also look lovely as a one shadow look. It is not too dark either.
Coral: this shade is absolutely stunning. It looks quite neutral on the eye. But can be a subtle pop of color. This corally shade has gold shimmer in it, which looks gorgeous in the sun.
Champagne: the most pigmented and shiny color is definitely this champagne color. I’ve been using this as my inner corner highlight.

  • Orchid Blossom

The shades of Orchid Blossom are definitely of the purple family.

20160714_180437

Column 3: Orchid Blossom

Dark Plum: This shade is dark, but not that dark that you can’t see it’s purplish hue. You could use this as a liner, smokey lid color, in the outer corner,… This one has a satiny finish.
Violet: When I am looking for a violet, purple color, this is definitely the type of color I would pick. I have something with purple. This shade was the first eye shadow I had ever bought. It was from Bourgois back then. But this color has been discontinued, sadly.
Frosty:  This one’s a shimmery and frosty white shade, which I also use as an inner corner highlighter. However I don’t like to use it beneath my brow bone. I feel it is less pigmented and I don’t like shimmery highlighters on the brow bone anyway. I much prefer a matt cream color.

Looks:

I’ve been playing with this pallet a whole week and I thought why not share the looks I’ve done with this pallet.

20160707_080453 - kopie (2)

Look 1

Look 1 (Excuse my stray hairs):
Lid ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Coral
Crease ==> Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons in Cashew Chew (transition shade) and Almond Truffle
Outer V ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Pinky Taupe
Lower lashline ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Mermaid
Inner Corner Highlight ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Champagne
Brow Bone Highlight ==> Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons in Divinity

Look 2

Look 2

Look 2:
Lid ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Pinky Taupe
Crease ==> Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons in Cashew Chew (transition shade) and Almond Truffle
Outer V ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Deep Plum
Lower lashline ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Coral for a pop of bright
Inner Corner Highlight ==> Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons in Satin Sheets
Brow Bone Highlight ==> Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons in Divinity

20160709_104724 - kopie

Look 3

Look 3:
Lid ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Champagne
Outer V ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Mermaid, swept close along the lash line, went in even closer the lash line with blue
Lower lashline ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Mermaid and outer corner with blue.
Inner Corner Highlight ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Frosty
Brow Bone Highlight ==> Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons in Divinity

20160710_103358

Look 4

Look 4:
Lid ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Violet
Outer V ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Blue, staying close to the lash line
Lower lashline ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Blue
Inner Corner Highlight ==> MUFE Artist Shadows Vol. 3 in Frosty
Brow Bone Highlight ==> Too Faced Chocolate Bonbons in Divinity

This concludes my little review. I hope you enjoyed it. If you did, please don’t forget to give me a thumbs up and subscribe, I’d appreciate that very much!

Have a nice day and I’ll talk to you in my next post or on Instagram (sarahslovelycupoftea).

Love,

Sarah

 

 

Leave a Reply

