Cup of looks: Misty Forest

Hello Loves,

Today I am sharing with you… ERMM…the dreaded first “Tutorial”. Let’s not call it a tutorial, shall we? I mean, I still have a lot to learn and… everything I’ve learned so far is self taught. So I kind of feel burdened by THE word “tutorial”. Let’s call it “sharing the look”, okay?

Every day before I go to work, I would spend approximately 40-50 minutes in the bathroom. I know a lot of people would “fall from their chair” (as we say it in Flemish) hearing this from me. Because let’s face it, most people don’t have the luxury to play around in their bathroom for almost an hour in the morning. I know it’s bad, but I get up a bit earlier and kind of skip breakfast for this. And it is such a joy to decide which colors I am going to use that day. I know this will change when I have kids. But for the time being, I am enjoying every minute of it. I’ve been posting my looks on instagram as much as possible. So Auntie Chi (Hi Cô Chi!!) has requested me to share a look on my blog… And today I decided to share with you the eye look of the week :).

Even though in June it’s supposed to be warm and bright, the weather in Belgium has been quite grey and rainy. “Misty Forest” is inspired by this weather. As I am walking to work, there is this mysterious grey glow in the sky. The green trees seem to fade with the sky from afar, which gives a mysterious aura…

20160701_080059

Look of the week: Misty Forest

 

 

I always start off with my eye make up. If I were to mess up, I won’t have to start all over again with the face. Before I put on any eyeshadow, I start by applying a primer. Today I am using the Too Faced Shadow Insurance, just applying it with my ring finger. I always do this, so that my eye make up lasts longer and doesn’t crease. I also feel that without a primer the eyeshadows do not show up as vibrant. Especially with drug store eye shadows, I need a little boost, as I am used to working with super pigmented colors like Urban Decay eye shadows.

Step 1: priming the eyes

Step 1: priming the eyes

In the next step, I apply with an E.L.F. blending brush (http://nl.eyeslipsface.be/product-beauty/oogpenseel-om-kleuren-te-vervagen) the color “Cashew Chew” in the crease, by gently pushing the brush in the outer eye socket en following the curve of the eye. Back in the day when I started following Michelle Phan, she’d call it the windshield motion. This color is just a little bit warmer than my natural skin tone. On top of that, I add in the crease, with the same brush, the color “Pecan Praline”. Any medium brown color would do, but I just like to give my Chocolate Bon Bons pallet from Too Faced some love (https://www.toofaced.com/p/eye-shadow-palettes/chocolate-bon-bons-eye-shadow-collection/ ==> I got mine from the Sephora France website). Please forgive me, but… I forgot to take a shot of these two steps. In my mind I really had taken 2 pictures…

Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons in "Cashew Chew" and "Pecan Praline"

Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons in “Cashew Chew” and “Pecan Praline”

With my ring finger, I then applied the creamy Color Tattoo 24h from Maybelline in Mauve Crush as a base. This eye shadow cream is very versatile. There is blue, purple and grey in it. No picture could do it justice. I’ve been using this almost all week to create different looks. You could of course use any other light blue, purple, grey or even white eye shadow base. I like to keep the color on the eyelid and not at all in the crease.

Maybelling Color Tattoo 24h in Mauve Crush

Maybelling Color Tattoo 24h in Mauve Crush

 

Step 2, 3 and 4: apply transition colors and then eye shadow base

Step 2, 3 and 4: apply transition colors and then eye shadow base

You could leave this eye shadow base bare, it would be as beautiful. But on me, leaving a creamy shadow like this, it tends to crease and build up in the fine lines. I am thus topping it off with a grey color with a flat eye shadow brush. Here I am using A3 from the Balm Voyage pallet volume 1, a shimmery grey that is not metallic. I am sorry, you guys, but this was a limited edition pallet, you could use any other grey though (https://www.pinterest.com/pin/1337074863804979).

A3 from the Balm Voyage pallet Volume 1

A3 from the Balm Voyage pallet Volume 1

I then took the foresty green color from the Glam pallet by L’Oréal to sweep on the other corner of my eye, staying close to the lashline.

Foresty green color - 4th color from the left

Foresty green color – 4th color from the left

20160703_185351

Steps 6 and 7: top the eyeshadow base off with a grey eye shadow. Then sweep a green color on the outer corner of the lower lashline.

As I have scarce eyelashes, I usually tightline on my upper lash line with the Maybelline Studio gel liner. I remember, the first time when I did this, I almost poked my eye out. I didn’t expect it to tickle this much. Now I lightly push with my pinky finger my eye lid up and apply the gel liner under the lash line. Then, without tucking on my eye lid, I gently push my eye lid down with my pinky finger to have more control. I stay as close as possible to the lash line above my lashes.  Now this is usually the moment I mess up, which forces me to make my liner thicker and… thicker. To achieve that cat eye, I draw with my angled brush a stripe on the outer corner and connect the end with my eye lid. I realize, it is difficult to explain. But it’s practically impossible to show it and take a picture at the same time on the cell phone by oneself… I’ll need to find a solution for that. I use the flat brush that comes with the Glam pallet to apply, the same green color on the lower lash line.

Step 8: Lining the eyes.

Step 8: Lining the eyes.

As you can see, I’m not blessed with lushious long lashes. I need two things to fix this: curling them lashes and coat them with a volumizing waxy mascara. My favorite of all times is the Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express Waterproof mascara. These days, I like to top it off with the Covergirl Super Sizer Waterproof mascara. I hate the wand of the Covergirl mascara though. I just use the Maybelline brush of the other mascara to apply it… less clumpy… I wiggle the wand from the roots to the points. And I apply on the ends some extra coats.

Step 9: Putting on several coats of mascara

Step 9: Putting on several coats of mascara

To finish up the eyes, I apply with a dense flat brush a matte white cream eye shadow. Here I am using “Divinity” from the Chocolate Bon Bons pallet. For the brows, I like to use a brown shadow, because that’s fast and easy. If you mess up, you can easily clean it up. Here I use the color “Buck” of the Naked pallet from Urban Decay. In the initial look, I used the Frosty beige color of the Glam pallet to lighten up the inner corners, which opens the eyes. But I forgot it, when I recreated this look. Let’s get passed that…

Step 10 and 11: Apply a highlighter under the brow bone and fill in your brows.

Step 10 and 11: Apply a highlighter under the brow bone and fill in your brows.

On to the rest of the face… I have been using for more then 2 years now the Etude House Cotton Fit BB cream. I just love the smell of this, the coverage is decent and it has SPF 30, so I am all for that. As concealer, I used the Stay All Day 16h  long-lasting concealer from Essence in 20 Soft Beige. I set the T-zone and my undereyes with a matt transparant powder. On my cheeks, I went for the Catrice Multi Matt Blush in the shade 010 Love, Rosie! To bronze up the face, I used the Chocolate Soleil Medium bronzer from Too Faced, a lovely warm matt shade. As always, I finish off by applying highlights on my nose, tip of the nose, cheek bone, forehead and cupids bow for a touch of light. Here, I’ve used the Too Faced Candlelight Glow in “Warm”.

The finished look in natural lighting

The finished look in natural lighting

The finished look with sunlight

The finished look with sunlight

Dolls, I know this was far from perfect: I forgot to take some shots, I forgot my inner corner highlight, the eye liner… well, it was what it was…, I used some limited products that aren’t available any more… I knew this, but I wanted to post it anyways, because it wasn’t that horrible, I thought? But hey, I’m here to learn and I hope that you at least enjoyed reading this.

I’d love to read your feedback, tips, ideas,… So definitely leave your comments below. If you liked it, please don’t forget to like the post and subscribe if you haven’t already.

I’ll talk to you in my next post!

Love,

Sarah

 

One thought on “Cup of looks: Misty Forest

Leave a Reply

